top of page

My Erasmus Experience


A few weeks ago I visited a small school in the town of Statte, Italy. Before we arrived, I had a few main worries; accommodation, food and people. However, the moment we arrived each of those worries floated away. I had my own large room, everyone was very kind, and I ate more food that week than any other in my life.

I stayed with the lovely Parsi family, who were all very welcoming and kind. Sara, who I had been paired with, spoke almost fluent English to an easily comprehensible standard. In the family, the language barrier was almost nonexistent.

Of the culture, there was a lot to see. In Britain we have such a reserved and snobbish national personal and so you can understand my amazement upon discovering Italy’s jolly, cheerful and informal atmosphere. Around the region of Taranto were more historic towns than I care to count, and I don't think I have ever seen so many churches and cathedrals in such a small area. From the Acropolis in Taranto to St Martin’s in Martina Franca to the Trulli in Alberobello, there were enough historic monuments to fill a year’s stay.

Alberobello – The Trulli, built in the sixteenth century

Of course, my favourite part was the food. I have never been what one would call a foodie, but thanks to Statte and the many, many restaurants, I have a new love for Italian meals. As well as the pasta, the pizza, the bruschetta and all the many other cultural icons, my meals were filled with lettuce, gateau, fancy cakes and octopus.

[endif]-- ![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page